What is the Commissioner’s Cup?

The Commissioner’s Cup is an annual in-season competition during the WNBA season.

Within the 40-game regular season, there are 10 games that count in the Commissioner’s Cup standings. Teams will compete in games against other teams in their conference (West and East), and the team with the highest win percentage from each conference will compete in the Championship game.

This competition is revolutionary for the players and fans to get involved. Teams play the Commissioner’s Cup games not just for bragging rights, but to win prize money for their players and charitable partners. The total prize pool is $500,000, with at least $165,000 going to charitable donations throughout the year.

Each team selects a charity of their choice to represent, and support thought the Commissioner’s Cup series. Throughout the season, every Commissioner’s Cup game win, will result in $2,000 for the charity, and every lose will result in $500 to their chosen organization.

The Mystics winning pot will help support MedStar Health’s DC Safe Babies and Safe Moms Initiative. Once the Commissioner’s Cup final is complete, the league will make an additional contribution of $10,000 to the winning team’s charity and $5,000 to the runner-up team’s charity.

Stay tuned all season long for the more Commissioner’s Cup games and the Commissioner’s Cup Championship game on August 15th.

Commissioner’s Cup Schedule